Triumph! Longest Run Yet

While I had been writing that reasonably long post about my 20 miler, I actually completed my longest run yet this morning.

22.51 miles!

Still following the plan for the most part, I was once again wary of how my body would handle the distance. To be sure, I started out slow again with miles between 9:15 and 9:30 pace. Then, after mile 10 I picked it up and stayed under 9:00 to finish and finish strong. I won’t lie, the last mile I could definitely feel the strain on my legs. Mostly muscles in my thighs (quads and hamstrings) were protesting. And once I stopped? Oh man did my calves hurt.

On a side note, I’ve learned that wearing my Injinji toe socks helps immensely to reduce the blisters and sores on my feet. I really only need them for long runs over about 15 miles. But they have made life so much easier since I started wearing them for these. I’ll definitely be sporting a pair for the marathon.

But moving on, once again, I’ve completed something I never would have imagined even a year ago. I had PowerBar brand gels, which seem to work best for me, that I consumed during and e-caps as well to help my hydration. Everything was taken at about 4.5 mile intervals.

Final time – 3:23. Yeah, I think I got this.

Oh, and thank god for compression socks.

One thought on “Triumph! Longest Run Yet

Leave a Reply

