Running in the Rain

I LOVE running in the rain!

Last night it was pouring down rain from the time I left work until long past when I had returned from my run. Now, I don’t always enjoy the idea of getting absolutely soaked while I exercise. However, since it happens so rarely I do for the most part enjoy a good run in the rain.

Always have to be careful though with rain runs. Here are just a few things to keep in mind.

  • It’s very easy to slip and do yourself damage on the wet ground. Yes, my shoes have grip on the bottom but that’s never been a fool-proof thing to rely on.
  • Especially if you are road running, people can be crazy when it comes to vehicles and rain. I always wear plenty of safety gear from light/bright colored clothing to reflective vests and head lamps. And I always look several times when crossing roads because some idiots don’t even turn on their lights.
  • Know when to quit or cut your run short. Generally the wet doesn’t do more than wash the sweat away, but when my shoes and then socks get too wet it starts to affect my running. For me at least, I have increased chances of getting things like blisters and generally missing a step when my feet start to get numb. Wet feet while in socks and shoes just isn’t a pleasant feeling.
  • Worse possible result: getting sick. Adding onto the knowing when to quit idea, you have to be careful. Even if you are keeping a higher body temperature while exercising, it’s still quite easy to let your body get too wet or cold (especially post run if you don’t jump straight into the shower) and end up sick.

The run last night was relatively short at around 2.5 miles. Due to being at work later than planned, it was not only pouring down rain but already pitch black by the time I even got home. It wasn’t very fast, but it was safe and fun. Especially because I was totally rocking out with the new music I put on my iPod shuffle.

Is there a point to this post? Of course not! Just putting down thoughts about the fun of running in the rain (I love getting home and dripping water all over the place just on principle) and some smart things to consider when you do it. Onwards!

P.S. Good luck to all my friends running the Ragnar Relay in the Florida Keys this weekend. I’m totally jealous!

Leave a Reply

