New Shoes

It’s always a sad day to realize your current running shoes are slowly losing their life. They’ve been with you across many long miles, through easy and hard runs, and all kinds of terrain. Running shoes are your constant companion. They go where you go and share the experiences of a great race or a tough workout.

So it’s just a bit sad to know the shoes you PRed the half marathon or ran your first marathon in won’t be joining you in logging the miles much longer.

But an ending is also a beginning! While it may be time to retire old pairs of running shoes that have done well by me, that also means I can welcome new friends. Shoes that have yet to learn the enjoyment of being a runner. Of following miles of trails and eating away at roads. That there is joy to be had in collecting footsteps before dawn.

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end. – Seneca

I offer a picture of my 2 new pairs of shoes. These ones will get me through the rest of my conditioning and into marathon training. I would hope they make it all the way through 4 months of marathon preparation, but I know it’s a promise I can’t make to them. So welcome the newest additions to my running gear.

100_3998

On the left are the Mizuno Wave Creation 14. On the right are the Asics Gel Cumulus 14. Both are neutral running shoes and I look forward to testing them out. Of course, I’ll be posting opinions on them. The Asics have already released a 15, but the Mizunos are the most recent version.

They’ll be replacing my Saucony Kinvara 2 (half PR) and my Asics GT 2170 (1st marathon)—both of which kept me company through physical therapy when I couldn’t run after those 2 races. But they’ve lived a longer life than most running shoes because of it and 400+ miles have done their damage.

Side note: keep an eye out as I’ll be making a tips post in regard to shoes.

4 thoughts on “New Shoes

    • It depends on the condition of the shoes. If they are in too bad a condition to still be worn, there are some locations that recycle shoes (like the Reuse A Shoe project http://www.nikereuseashoe.com/ or One World Running http://oneworldrunning.com/). If they can still be worn, a variety of charities accept shoe donations and some events (like Tough Mudder) partner with such charities. Likewise, there are athletic/running stores (like my local Road Runner Sports) that take used shoe donations in a similar fashion for charity.

      • I’ve always tried to donate my shoes, regardless of being a runner or not. It’s only in the last 2-3 years I’ve become more aware of the charities and recycling options specific to the athletic community. Now, I’ll hold on to an old pair that I don’t run in anymore until I can give it a good charity or program.

Leave a Reply

