MCM Training: Weeks 6 & 7

And I’m back! It’s been a few days, but I have 2 new recaps for while I’ve been gone. I fully admit it was difficult to get up and go run early while visiting with my family. I wanted to sleep in like everyone else was! But here we go, recaps for weeks 6/18 and 7/18 –

20130810_093202Week 6
Total (Running) Miles: 47.5
This was an interesting week. As I was heading out to join the extended family for our yearly get together/vacation on Friday, I kind of shoved all my workouts together. No rest day until after all 6 days of running were complete. This means I did my interval workout on Thursday and then the long run Friday morning before leaving. Just keep that in mind.

Hills: 4×1.0 miles – 8:19, 8:18, 8:18, 8:01
It was a hot day, but my repeats were right on. I decided to change up the data fields on my Garmin in an effort to stay on pace better. The past few weeks I’ve managed to reach my time goals, but haven’t been very consistent. So in an attempt to better train my body for my goal pace, I switched one of my screens to 2 data fields. All it shows is lap pace and lap time. Using that to track my pace and make sure each quarter mile has me still on track, I was able to be way more consistent. Of course, the last repeat was fast, but since it was the last one it’s okay.

Intervals: 6.6 miles
6x800m – 3:33, 3:32, 3:31, 3:30, 3:29, 3:22
Awesome workout! Way better than my intervals the week before. Using the same new screen/data fields as from the hill workout. That allowed me to be super consistent and negative splits! Wooo, if you can’t tell I was super excited after this one was finished. I felt great, my legs felt great, and the entire workout felt good. No being ready to be done after the first repeat like last week.

Long Run: 16.08mi @ 8:55 pace
This one started slow. I had some trouble pacing myself for the first 7 miles or so. Had someone biking with me since it was early Friday morning & I didn’t have any running partners available. Chatting with him I think is what kept me from staying on pace. But after he swung off about halfway through (it was light out by then) I settled in to a better pace. The last 8 miles were all sub-9:00. However, since the loop I’d mapped out ended up being a bit short, tagging on the final 1.5 miles was a bit of a struggle.

Week 7

Total Running Miles: 50.25

20130803_081453Tempo: 7 miles – 5 at pace – 8:25, 8:20, 8:16, 8:18, 8:12

Much later start than planned as I was out late night fishing. It was mad humid besides being warm. So I was a bit slower getting started and settling into pace, but once I did I was good. Much more useful for me staying on pace and mostly consistent with the different fields on the Garmin. Running up and down US1 would normally be boring, but the activity with lobster season about to open made it interesting.

Intervals: 6.5 miles

6x800m – 3:36, 3:30, 3:31, 3:33, 3:28, 3:25

This one was super hard. More than anything I was just tired from the mix of running and spending the days out in the sun boating, fishing, and diving. So it was a struggle every morning to get up earlier than everyone else so I could get my runs completed. Plus there was no track available, so I had to work out a back and forth route to get these repeats in. Managed something of a loop from my uncle’s place to a boat ramp and then a little access road to a camp ground. It was a beautiful day, but a rough workout. Kept tempting myself to either cut it short or take it easier. Not as fast as some, but I got it all done.

20130810_063630Long Run: 18.06 miles @ 9:07 pace

Whew, 4AM in the Keys is early and DARK.  While the run itself wasn’t bad and I had a follower on a bike (and a basket full of supplies), this was a stressful run. First because it was so dark that even with our lights it was a struggle not to trip over stuff on the US1 bike path. Plus my follower would spazz over anything (for example, a leaf the wind was carrying scared her & she freaked thinking it was a bat…). The first few miles were slow because I was dealing with someone’s biking mishaps. Then the middle miles felt pretty okay. Also wore my camelbak for water and between that and the crazy dark I think I was too tense. 14-18 was hard, but I managed. And 8 of the 18 miles were sub-9:00 so even though it didn’t feel like the best run it still went well.

So overall I’m happy with the last 2 weeks of training. I admit I was a little worried about the 18 miler only because all three 18 milers I did for the last training plan were just horrible. Bad days, bad workouts, bonk, etc. 20 and 22 were fine, but 18 mile runs were just miserable. I assumed that may be the same case this time around too, but while the run wasn’t the best and still stressful, it went way better than the least 3 times. Spending all day in the sun definitely made the runs, and getting up for them, rougher. Especially the first few days as there was a crazy strong current ripping along the reefs. But I still got up and got my workouts done.

Not quite half way to taper but getting there! And just to make you jealous.

20130812_113727

Leave a Reply

