MCM Training: Week 9/18

This marks the official halfway point of training (taper and all). That’s 9 solid weeks of running! Yay for 9/18.

Total Miles: 51

Tempo: 8.09 miles

8:17, 8:21, 8:15, 8:23, 8:18, 8:08

Since we got rained out of hills, I opted for a tempo on Tuesday. I slept through my first alarm so it was a bit later than I planned. Not a problem exactly, except it meant I was running into the kids walking/biking to elementary school. Ugh, most of the parents lack an understanding of being polite and sharing the sidewalk. Think that threw off a couple of my miles. Especially the lady that didn’t realize she had a flat tire on her bike. Anyways, went pretty well and the distance was no real trouble.

Intervals: 6.99 miles

7x800m – 3:30, 3:25, 3:25, 3:24, 3:23, 3:18, 3:17

This went awesome. I felt fine though on a few I did back off a bit from the pace set by the two running partners with me (consistently too fast haha). Calves were a little tight at the end, but the workout went well. Of course, after 5 I just wanted to be done but it was easier to get to the end when people run with me.

Long Run: 16.03 @ 9:10 pace

A little rougher run as I probably wasn’t hydrated as well as I should have been. Did the first stretch of 4.5 with  a few others almost exactly at a 10:00 pace. It was nice to ease in with that as my knees were aching a bit when I woke up. At that point I was warmed up and the main group start I jumped back into 9:00 miles. Pace was semi-consistent for the next 11, though there was one crazy fast mile and a slightly slower one in there. Kind of surprised I brought the average down so much. Fueling went well and I did carry water with me so it wasn’t too bad. Yay for another long run complete!

This week was interesting due to non-running related things. Regardless I got them done and the mileage logged. I have been wondering if I want to try moving all my workouts to the morning in an effort to get around these afternoon storms. I don’t like throwing the schedule out of whack haha. The next few weeks will be the interesting ones.

Leave a Reply

