MCM Training: Week 10/18

And that’s 10/18! 6 weeks and counting to taper.

Total Running Miles: 54

Biking Miles: 8 (so many! haha)

Hills: 8.24 miles

6 repeats – 8:11, 8:11, 8:10, 8:11, 8:01, 7:40

It was hot and I was tired. At least I was mostly consistent, even if I was too fast compared to what I was supposed to pace. Felt like I was struggling to get up to and maintain speed, but my splits say otherwise. A little strain in my calves afterwards, but that’s it.

Intervals: 8.00 miles

8×800 – 3:31, 3:30, 3:31, 3:31, 3:29, 3:30, 3:29, 3:28

This one was equal parts awesome and sucky. On one side, probably my most consistent workout yet. On the other, I had to rush to get it done and so was stressed from rushing (I didn’t want to cut the workout short, but I also didn’t want to be late). Plus I thought I had another hour to down some more water and keep myself hydrated. But happy to have still gotten the workout done. Color me surprised, I was consistent all on my lonesome. (The group was starting as I was finishing.)

Long Run: 18.57 @ 9:15 pace

Another good 18-miler without any difficulties. Aiming for an even 9:00 pace would have put me between groups for most of the run. Since the first 8 were a little slower, the next 10 would have needed to be faster and I just prefer running with others during training. But had a couple faster miles with one of the girls. Calves felt tired afterwards but that’s pretty normal for me. Well hydrated and had my e-caps/fuel planned out for the water stops. Super glad that part of the training is all ironed out and easy to manage.

Trying to get back into taking the bike out if for no other reason than to stretch my legs. With my mileage being higher over the next 6 weeks leading up to taper, I don’t think I’ll be doing too much with the bike (or too fast at least). Training is getting tiring since it’s getting longer, but I’m managing to stay on it so yay. I’ll be looking at new shoes any time now so I have plenty of time to break them in. I know I’ve been slacking on non-training related posts, but I have a few new ones in progress I hope to get up over the next week or two so keep an eye out for those.

3 thoughts on “MCM Training: Week 10/18

  1. Great job Mandy! You’re inspiring me to maybe put down the PS3 for a couple of weeks and get back to running. I haven’t done a marathon in YEARS and I’m sure I couldn’t hold a 9:00 pace for 18 miles at this point.

  2. That’s a good week! Don’t worry about slower miles on the long run. My running group’s slogan is “Train Slow to Race Fast,” which highlights the philosophy of performing your long runs at a pace at least a minute per mile slower than goal pace.

    Like you, my plan has speedwork in it…as well as goal pace miles and tempo runs. I’m hitting the hardest part of the plan now – especially those 800m repeats.

    Keep it up!

    • Thanks Kevin! My coach has been trying to instill that method into me by saying no faster than a 9:00 mile for the LSD, but sometimes I don’t even realize my pace (and I try not to check my Garmin too often).

      I’m with you on the speedwork – but we’ve made it this far. Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

