MCM Training: Week 11/18

A bit slow getting this recap out, but here it is. Yay, double digit week! Oh wait, that started last week. Fail. Moving on – highest mileage week EVER!!

Running Miles: 59

Hills: 9.26 miles

7x1mi – 8:08, 8:09, 8:06, 8:13, 8:14, 8:05, 7:37

Yeah, soooo, about that whole staying on pace thing. I was sort of consistent! Ran the first one with one of the girls and the last with one of the guys. Or it may be better to say they were nice and ran with me. I’ve realized that whatever pace I manage on the first repeat, that tends to be where my body settles for the rest of the workout. Maintained pretty well, though the heat and humidity was a bit killer. Stopped after 3 and 5 for water. Otherwise steady going. I realized I need to bring more water with me. Which also probably means I needed to hydrate a bit better too. Hmmm.

Intervals: 7.62 miles

8×800 – 3:32, 3:29, 3:31, 3:30, 3:34, 3:30, 3:32, 3:22

Decided to do these early AM with a couple of the girls. Actually felt kind of cool, though I imagine it was just because the temp was a couple degrees down from the usual afternoon. Except for the slowest one, I just kind of spaced myself back from one of the faster girls. At the end, I felt like I could have done the whole group a bit faster (and by faster, I mean just a couple seconds). Otherwise, that :22 wouldn’t have happened.

Long Run: 22.01 miles @ 8:56 pace

Group of 3 of us did the whole 22 together – though we had people join us for anywhere from 6-14 miles. Felt good, though the middle miles I slowed down behind the other 2 (by about 20 seconds per mile). A few of them were closer to 9:15, but that was probably good as otherwise the pace would have been lower. No issues and I made sure to have gels and e-caps. Last couple miles went well pace wise, but I could feel the tiredness. Only 4.2 more miles and I would have finished a marathon in sub-4! This run went way better than my marathon did, so it was definitely a confidence booster for me.

While the earlier parts of the week I was extra tired (I blame hills), I seemed to settle into the flow of the workouts. Calves have seemed to be the biggest issue areas, though I admit to icing my knees just a bit after the 22 miler. A bit of ice and I was good, so maybe just inflammation? Regardless, super happy with how this week went and I look forward to finishing up the rest of these high mileage weeks. Tappppeeeerrrr, wait for meeeee!!!

Leave a Reply

