MCM Training: Week 13/18

And that’s 13/18 – only 3 more tough weeks to go!

Total Miles: 59

Bike Miles: 5 (lazy!)

Hills: 9.26 mi

7×1.0mi – 8:20, 8:11, 8:17, 8:08, 8:03, 8:08, 8:23

Still not as consistent, but I felt better than last week. Probably need to bring a second water bottle out to the start point with me too. Still had a tight muscle in my left calf, but it has been getting progressively better. A little annoying by the end of this run but it will have gone away by Wednesday.

Intervals: 8.11 mi

9x800m – 3:29, 3:23, 3:23, 3:22, 3:23, 3:23, 3:22, 3:24, 3:16

And another awesome morning chasing after Miss Kathy. It was just a degree or two cooler than it has been, though still humid. We had to avoid the ducks/geese that did not like us being half a pond away from the baby ones. Felt solid, no muscle issues, and absolutely love my new shoes. Wore my “speed” pair which I’ll use when I race the half.

Long Run: 22.03 mi @ 9:02 pace

Yay! Another 22 done at a sub-4:00 pace. A bit slower this time, but with a different mix of people and the last few miles on my own. Felt good and could have run faster but again, stayed with people. Gels and hydration were good. Also, had 4 miles at or faster than marathon pace (unintentionally) which I guess balanced out the slower miles. Last 2 miles were completed sub-8:00. Again, unplanned – but I was by myself for those last few and I wanted to be done. I was mad hungry and Panera was waiting for me haha. No post run issues with my knees or anything, was just tired.

Both of my old pairs of shoes are retired and the new ones mostly broken in. While I’m pretty sure which I’ll be racing in, still kind of undecided on that. Progress! Now to just make it to the end. Less than 5 weeks to race day!

Leave a Reply

