All In: Gasparilla Ultra Challenge

Once again I seem to have committed myself to a crazy event. Deciding to not focus solely on distance PRs this year, it only seemed appropriate to follow up a Ragnar Relay with something equally questionable in the sanity department.

Gasparilla is a local flavor event and one I’ve done several times between high school and now. The past few years I’ve just tackled the half marathon as I was generally chasing a PR. With the Gasparilla race weekend happening just two weeks after Ragnar, I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do. Thinking it over since I’ll be trying training methods centered around running several times in a 24 hour period, the decision seemed kind of obvious.

If I’m doing that training anyways, why not do a challenge? Gasparilla offers several “ultra” challenges for tackling different sets of races. Since I’m doing it, I’m going all in for the main one, the Michelob Ultra Challenge.

Mich-Ultra-ChallengeI’ll run the 15K and 5K on Saturday. Then follow it up with the half marathon and 8K on Sunday. For a total of 30.4 miles over two days.

Let’s be realistic. I just have to complete the races within the time limits; it doesn’t necessarily mean I need to race them all. That said, my plan is to attempt to race the two longer distances, the 15K and the half marathon, due to them being my stronger events. I’m more likely to place in my age group with those two than the shorter 5K and 8K. (And as such, get more bling.)

Being straightforward: the chance to collect 4 shirts, a jacket, and 5 medals was a big incentive. It’s almost like doing an ultra, but spreading out the running and getting more stuff out of it.

Though as I read that, it does seem like sort of skewed logic. Just means the next 6 weeks are going to be an adventure.

Leave a Reply

