#BostonStrong Comeback

Today was the 118th Boston Marathon but it meant much more than just another event for this prestigious race.

One year later, a field of nearly 36,000 runners went out to show that the running community is stronger than ever. The last year has been spent healing and today was the chance to wash it away with new, greater memories.

It couldn’t have been more perfect conditions. Clear and sunny skies, a crispy 40 degrees for the Elite women’s start and an almost unheard of lack of wind. And the performances by the athletes showed it.

The Elite women’s winner, Rita Jeptoo, set a course record and ran the 8th fastest women’s marathon time. Ever. American Shalane Flanagan took 6th with a  new American Record. And nothing could have crowned the day better than Meb Keflezighi being the first American  man in 31 years to win the Boston Marathon. The last American male winner was in 1983.

As the folks over at Mashable said, “it was more than just a race — it was a comeback.”

I spent the day like any other day, at work, but with the BAA live stream my background noise and a page on my browser refreshed every 5 minutes for updates on my friends running. It seemed everyone came out with their best today; one of the ladies I’ve trained with (and hope to be like some day) ran her own personal best in 3:11. The entire group did fantastic!

If ever you want inspiration to go out and do something, anything, the Boston Marathon is it. Even though I’ve told myself I won’t run a marathon this year, today definitely tested my strength of will to hold to that.

Now obviously, I’ve been a bit silent recently. Lots going on in life but I wanted you all to know that I’m still moving along. Got in a 6.2 miler today in honor of the Boston Marathon and all who ran it this year and the last. For now, there’s no races on my calendar so I’m just chugging along. I’ve been contemplating tackling a triathlon later in the summer. We’ll see if that actually happens or not.

For now, I’ll leave you with this article on Mashable of 15 Uplifting Photos from the 118th Boston Marathon. It’s well worth the look, and in some cases, the caption read.

Leave a Reply

